Saturday, August 8

7PM Pacific

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
Concerto for Oboe and Violin in C minor, BWV 1060
I.           Allegro
II.          Adagio
III.         Allegro

Claude Debussy (1862-1918), arr. Kenneth Cooper (b. 1941)
Sonata “No. 5” (2013)
I.           Étude – Pour les “cinq doigts” – d’après Monsieur Czerny
II.          La sérénade interrompue
III.        “General Lavine” – eccentric

Gabriel Fauré (1845-1924)
Piano Quartet No.1 in c minor, Op.15
I.          Allegro molto moderato
II.         Scherzo: Allegro vivo
III.        Adagio
IV.        Allegro molto

program description

Beguiling oboe and violin artistry begins this concert in a gem-like Baroque Double Concerto with string quintet.

A World Premiere follows with piano, clarinet, bassoon and trumpet sonorities, all re- envisioned for French composer Debussy. Finishing the concert, the Gallic flavor continues in a piano quartet displaying kaleidoscopic shift,s and suave romanticism that shimmers – just like the Tahoe breezes.

Chamber Musician Bios

Timothy Dilenschneider, Bass
Désirée Elsevier, Viola
Daniel Gilbert, Clarinet
Laura Hamilton, Viola
Kristi Helberg, Violin
Harrison Hollingsworth, Bassoon
Nathan Hughes, Oboe
Guy Piddington, Trumpet
Daniel Khalikov, Violin
Saeunn Thorsteinsdottir, Cello
Gilles Vonsattel, Piano
Sarah Vonsattel, Violin

Tonight’s concert is made possible by Christine and John E. Sells, Sells Foundation.

The performance of Bach’s concerto for oboe and violin is dedicated to Anna S. and William O. Harden who instilled in their daughter a love of classical music. 

Thank you Kern Schumacher, concert host. 

Incline Village, Nevada, North Lake Tahoe

To dedicate a piece of music on this program, inquire with Karen Craig, Executive Director.